Day Twenty: Eduardo’s Road To Fitness

Thanks to my running I am now developing an addiction to couscous and have sore nipples.  Like a blister, a tornado, or a saucepan that boils over, both of these issues took place suddenly and without much warning. One minute I was enjoying my run, the next minute my running vest had worn my nipples away. Not good.

My recent craving for couscous is no bad thing.  It is low in fat and high in complex carbohydrates. I enjoy cooking and decided to look up some recipes online. Couscous is simple and easy to prepare however it would appear that many authors have decided to make things complicated.  One couscous based recipe looked particularly attractive, the photos and description made my mouth water. However in order to prepare the dish I would need a new kitchen, stocked with the type of cooking paraphernalia that Jamie Oliver reads about under his duvet at night.

As is often the case with browsing the Internet, one page led to another and I found myself reading an article in the New York Times.  It caught my eye as it mentioned the possibility that scientists based at the Large Hadron Collider may create a number of miniature black holes. This would make things awkward for us, in that doing so could end life on this planet.

At the centre of all this fuss is something called the Large Hadron Collider, or LHC as it is affectionately known. It cost over two billion pounds and was built by the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). It lies under the Franco-Swiss border near Geneva, Switzerland and is both the world’s largest and the highest-energy particle accelerator.

CERN

source: CERN

Those losing sleep over the LHC being turned on are worried that high-energy particle collisions performed in the LHC might cause disastrous events, including the production of strangelets, stable micro black holes, magnetic monopoles and supersymmetric particles. It sounds like something straight out of a science fiction movie.

These critics are not a bunch of longhaired tree huggers, these are respected scientists.  Clever people who would find the molecular structure of couscous interesting, but simple.

Apparently this is not the first time the Large Hardon Collider has been in the news.  Back in April the Times reported that some scientists had not done their sums correctly and had caused a massive underground explosion at the facility. It was so powerfull that it managed to move a 20 tonne magnet, filled a tunnel with helium gas and caused a massive evactuation.

I hope they have got their sums right this time.  I intend to race on October 26th and would be disappointed if I didn’t have a planet to run on. In the meantime I will enjoy my couscous and will avoid the dreaded nipple rub.  I have another hour long run planned today.

If you should encounter any micro blackholes, stranglets or magnetic monopoles, you will at least have been warned.
I leave you with the HitchHikers Guide to the Galaxy. Courtesy of YoutTube.

1 Comment

  1. First of all, they had started a supercollider project in Texas years ago and the funding for the project eventually disappeared because it was so damn expensive.

    Second, sore nipples? When my wife was breastfeeding she had sore nipples and we got some special cream from the US (had a little import business going on it with other mothers she met in her pre-natal group). We probably still have an extra tube somewhere!

    Cheers,

    James

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

