Day Twenty Three: Eduardo’s Road To Fitness

“Steve Austin, astronaut. A man barely alive. Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology. We have the capability to build the world’s first bionic man. Steve Austin will be that man. Better than he was before. Better, stronger, faster.”

The Six Million Dollar Man.  It just popped into my head and then took over for the next few hours.  A curious thing often happens whilst I am cycling.  One minute I am leaving the front door, the next minute I snap out of a day dream and find myself eighty kilometres away, half way up a mountain on the French border.  I was late yesterday for which I blame The Six Million Dollar Man.  I set off intent on doing a seventy kilometre bike ride and ended up doing ninety.

It sounds corny, but I just don’t know where the time went.  I remember taking a few videos using my Nokia N95 phone.  I also remember riding up the two climbs en route but for the life of me, I can’t remember much else.  I have embedded a few videos.  My apologies for the terrible camera shake. It is hard filming and riding downhill at the same time.  I had to stop filming just before I entered the tight switchbacks. Who knows, perhaps the videos will jog my memory about where I vanished to for half the day. The first video was taken near the town of Valldeoriolf.

The video below was taken at the start of the last climb of the day.

When I finished the  last descent back down to the coast I looked down at my watch and panicked. I was really late.  We were due to leave at 1PM for lunch with the relatives and I was still quite a long way from home.

When I realized how late I was, I was forced to ride ‘a Bloc’ or flat out, all the way home. I was being teased and punished by a salty wind that played games with me; either blowing diagonally across the beach front, carrying massive amounts of sand with it, or battering me head on.

It was really hot and I was out of water.  I tried to locate a water fountain in one town but after messing about riding up and down one-way streets I gave up and pressed on, my mouth was dry but I was anxious that everyone was waiting for me in the apartment.

When I arrived home I was 24 minutes late, I fell in the door, dived into the shower and was ready to go in about three minutes flat.  I then bundled all six of us in the Fiat Multipla and drove rapidly along the B-20 to Arenys de Munt.  It felt like a timed stage in a car rally, as I hit the long dirt road that leads up to the restaurant.  The little Fiat did well today – it was as maxed out as I was earlier on.

Lunch was impressive.  The restaurant specialized in flame-grilled foods.  I tackled a large plate of grilled Sepia (Cuttlefish) followed by grilled pig cheeks (!) and finished it all off with a blob of ice cream.  Nice.

Three hours later we left the restaurant.  I decided I needed a swim in the sea to make up for my massive meal so I dropped everyone off , drove down to the beach and swam for 35 minutes.

I really love swimming in the sea.  It really lifts my spirits like nothing else can and unlike my cycle ride I never thought of the Six Million Dollar Man once.

2 Comments

  1. wow! You must be really good on that bike to be confident enough to ride downhill with only one hand on the bars… the videos though short are really quite awesome.
    i’ve been wanting to go out and do some cycling but i have no idea how to start. i got myself a mountain bike and the gears are a mystery i cannot even begin to decipher…
    you’ve been to the philippines so perhaps you will understand me when I say that our roads, though relatively flat, are not for the faint hearted. 😉

    grilled pig cheeks? yum. not something my trainer would approve of though… haha!

    Like

  2. Hey Ed loving the blog. It would be quite useful if you could add in some more details of your diet. I am feeling inspired and am starting to get really fit again but i struggle to stay away from the biscuits and chocolate!

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

