Day Forty Five: Eduardo’s Road To Fitness

Just because I’m losing
Doesn’t mean I’m lost
Doesn’t mean I’ll stop
Doesn’t mean I would cross

Yesterday was a bit of a write off.  I woke up lying in a small pool of water that had escaped from my nose. I was feeling pretty rough.  It was such a lovely day however that I could not sit at home, so I decided to go for a gentle spin on the bike along the waterfront.  I thought I would listen to Coldplay.  Because I wanted to play and I had a cold.

Barcelona is full of boats.  In many ways it reminds me of Hong Kong.  I used to live in Sai Kung and would often find myself visiting friends at Marina Cove or Hebe Haven.  There are lots of places to moor a boat here and the locals seem to take delight in sailing.

If I have a recovery ride planned I choose my routes carefully.  I avoid any routes where I may bump into a group of cyclists because I know that I’ll get drawn into joining up with them and it will often end up being a much harder session than planned.

Cycle paths are good.  They are off the road which means I am far less likely to find myself stuck in ‘hammer mode’.  I can just spin along and check out the view.  Which is exactly what I did yesterday.

I freewheeled down the hill to Badalona, crossed under the train line and joined the coastal cycle path.  Turning towards Barcelona I cycled past the Olympic Port, stopping to look at some of the beautiful yachts moored in the area.  I continued on the busier track, doing my best to avoid the skateboarders and joggers. I then cruised past the sun worshippers on the beach. Anyone that wants to sunbathe at this time of year is dedicated. Isambard Kingdom Brunel would have been impressed by the innovative structures that these people have built on the beach. They are built so that the diehards that want to get a tan can do so without dying of exposure.  Don’t get me wrong its not freezing but I can’t imagine lying naked on the beach at the moment. But then maybe that is because I have a cold.

After my ride, which lasted just over ninety minutes, I took my place on the sofa and settled in to watch the world championship road race in Italy.  It was the womens race.  As is often the case with the world championships it came down to tactics as well as strength.  Nicole Cooke pulled off an inspiring win after an action packed final five kilometres filled with attack after attack.

I am off to bed in an effort to beat this pesky cold.  Tomorrow will be a rest day.  There is little point in training whilst this cold persists.  It is better to relax, catch some rays and watch other people race so I am off to a bike event in the morning.  Rosie is competing so I have made sure the camera is charged.

I leave you with ColdPlay courtesy of YouTube.  Let’s hope my cold is lost tomorrow.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

