Day Eighty Six: Eduardo’s Road To Fitness

I seem to be in tune with my surroundings at the moment, in particular the beauty of the countryside. I spent four hours on my bike today riding alongside a diverse coastline. Past rocky coves that embraced water so blue it looked fake. Like something out of a demo reel used to show off the latest flat screen televisions.

The sun was shining, I was sweating beneath my cycling kit but it felt good, I wasn’t over heating, it was just a pleasant side effect of working hard. I rode past quite a few recreational cyclists today, probably on holiday for Christmas, I made it a point to say hello to everyone. I was as happy as a sparrow with a French fry in its mouth.

The coastal road hugs all of the beaches; you are never more than a stones throw away from the sea. You can hear the waves crashing onto the sand, smell the salt air as it is vaporised on the large rocky sections of the coast. I turned my iPod off for a while so that I could wrap myself up in the sounds of the sea as I cycled.

Later on, near the town of Sant Pol de Mar, I began to climb inland, heading up through the cold layers of air that are found in the shadow of the large Montnegre mountain range that runs parallel with the coast. My route took me along the Sant Pol River, now no more than a dry riverbed that runs through the valley. It was picture postcard stuff.

Later on, as I climbed higher I entered a spooky area, beneath tall trees; shaded from the sun it was very cold. There was frost on the ground and the road was slippery. A dense white mist lay on the grass beneath the canopy of trees. I was listening to my iPod again. The scene looked mystical, like something out of a fairy tale and my music matched it perfectly. Enya was playing. I half expected to see a white unicorn grazing up ahead as I rode through the mist.

Days like these are what I live for. Days that become memories, days that stay with you, make you smile and want to get up in the morning and do it all over again.

I won’t though. Tomorrow I plan to go mountain biking. Let’s hope it is sunny again. I’m a fan of sunshine. And Enya

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

