Day Ninety Nine: Eduardo’s Road To Fitness

Life’s simple pleasures. I was thinking about making a list of them. Riding a bike downhill would be one entry on the list but it can be enhanced. Riding downhill on a bike through the city and having every red light turn green so that you don’t have to slow down and spoil the descent. That would be pretty high up the list. You could add in, having a fantastic view of the sea, a blue expanse of water laid out before you as you drop down towards the beach, with row, upon row of perfect waves lined up in sets just waiting to be surfed. Now that, that would be even higher up the list.

Clearly my mind was wandering. For I was nowhere near the beach, and was certainly not in the city heading towards the beach in front of Poblenou, that, through some sort of magic, had transformed itself into Hanalei Bay in Kauai. No, I was at the bottom of a technical, rock strewn descent, up in the hills near Barcelona. I was waiting for a friend of mine to catch up and was happier than a sparrow with a French fry.

What else would be on my list? The first coffee of the day? That would be on there somewhere, for I am a coffee fiend. A cold beer on a hot day? My list, would contain a lot of food and beverage moments. Not unusual I suppose. A nice meal is a simple pleasure. Being hungry enhances that pleasure and, come to think of it, I was pretty hungry.

We were heading back on a wide fire-road, in the general direction of Allela, to my friends house. All I could think of was food, and, my list of simple pleasures and a song popped into my head. It stayed with me for hours, until I forced it out with another tune.

I’ll leave you with it courtesy of YouTube…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

